18+ Adults only 31 apps compared Prices re-checked September 29, 2026

aigirlfriends.guide Try #1 free

SpicyChat review: cheap 18+ roleplay, with a few catches

Our SpicyChat review in one line: it is one of the cheapest ways into 18+ character roleplay, with unlimited free chat, group chats of up to 10 characters and personas, but pictures, bigger memory and voice sit on higher tiers. It scores 7.6 out of 10, and Get A Taste costs $5 a month billed yearly ($60.00 a year) or $5.95 month to month after a September 2026 price rise.

SpicyChatRanked #undefined of 31
7.6/10
Price
from $5 a month
Free plan
4K memory, 180-token replies, 3 personas
Best for
Unfiltered roleplay on a tight budget
Try SpicyChat free

Our verdict on SpicyChat

SpicyChat is an adults-only character chat site run by NextDay AI Incorporated in Montreal, the same group behind GirlfriendGPT. Users build and share roleplay characters, set up personas for themselves, import character cards and run group chats with 2 to 10 characters. NSFW chat is allowed in private chats, while public pages are moderated, and its community guidelines list clear bans, including underage characters, non-consent and bots based on real private people.

The free plan is genuinely usable: unlimited chat with ads, on a 4,096-token context (the amount of recent conversation a character can see) and replies capped at 180 tokens. Paying is mostly about memory and media. Get A Taste removes ads and adds a Memory Manager; True Supporter doubles the context, adds Semantic Memory 2.0 and unlocks conversation images; I'm All In adds text-to-speech, custom voices and every model.

The catches: prices rose on 8 September 2026, pictures start at the True Supporter tier, there are no live calls, the iOS app is gone, and its terms warn that operators may read the messages you send. For cheap text roleplay it is strong. For pictures on a cheaper plan, live calls or an iPhone app, see our SpicyChat alternatives.

What we like
  • Unlimited free chat with ads
  • Group chats with 2 to 10 characters
  • Up to 100 personas and editable memory tools
  • Get A Taste works out at $5 a month billed yearly
Watch out for
  • Conversation images need True Supporter or higher
  • No App Store app; Android uses a direct download
  • Terms say operators may read the messages you send

SpicyChat at a glance

SpicyChat key facts, checked September 29, 2026
Company NextDay AI Incorporated, Canada (Montreal), with NextDay AI USA Inc (Delaware) and NextDay AI EU Ltd (Cyprus)
Website spicychat.ai
Cheapest plan from $5 a month (Get A Taste annual plan, billed $60.00 a year)
Month to month $5.95 a month
In-app currency None advertised
Free plan 4K memory, 180-token replies, 3 personas
Pictures Yes
Video No
Voice messages Yes
Voice calls No
Build your own character Yes
Group chat Yes
Memory Long-term
18+ content Allowed for verified adults
Free plan limits 4,096-token context memory, 180-token replies and 3 personas; no conversation images or text-to-speech; no free trial
Refunds Card payments refunded if requested within 24 hours with minimal usage; crypto and other one-time payments are non-refundable
iPhone app No, use the website
Android app Yes, on Google Play

Sources: docs.spicychat.ai/september-2026-pricing-update-faq, docs.spicychat.ai/product-guides/premium-features, support.spicychat.ai/support/solutions/articles/153000260533-plans-and-what-s-included, support.spicychat.ai/support/solutions/articles/153000260544-refunds, docs.spicychat.ai/product-guides/group-chat.

How SpicyChat scores

  • Conversation8.9
  • Memory8.5
  • Pictures and video7.0
  • Voice6.7
  • Value6.6
  • Trust6.4

Overall 7.6 out of 10. Weighted: conversation 25%, memory 20%, pictures and video 20%, value 15%, voice 10%, trust 10%. How the scores work.

SpicyChat pricing after the September 2026 rise

SpicyChat has a free plan and three paid tiers, and prices rose on 8 September 2026 (pricing update FAQ). Existing subscribers keep their old price as long as their plan stays active and unchanged.

SpicyChat plans and prices in US dollars, from its own pricing page (September 2026)
Plan Month to month Per month, paid yearly Billed yearly Includes
Free $0 n/a n/a Unlimited free chat with ads, up to 4,096-token context, 180-token replies, basic models
Get A Taste $5.95 $5 $60 No ads, 4K context, Memory Manager, up to 10 personas. UK: £4.95 a month or £50 a year.
True Supporter $19.95 $16.66 $199.95 8K context, Semantic Memory 2.0, 300-token replies, conversation images, advanced models, up to 50 personas. UK: £16.95 a month or £169.95 a year.
I'm All In $29.95 $24.96 $299.95 Up to 32K context, text-to-speech and custom voices, priority generation, conversation images for all characters, generation settings, all models including SpicyXL, up to 100 personas. UK: £25.95 a month or £259.95 a year.

There is no token or coin currency: each tier unlocks a fixed set of features, and nothing is charged per message or per picture. That makes SpicyChat easy to budget. The jump that matters is from Get A Taste ($5.95 a month) to True Supporter ($19.95), because that is where pictures begin. Our SpicyChat pricing guide covers the yearly savings and discounts.

Is SpicyChat free? What the free plan includes

Yes. Free users get unlimited chat with ads on the basic models, a 4,096-token context, replies of up to 180 tokens and 3 personas. There are no conversation images or text-to-speech on the free plan, and SpicyChat offers no free trial of the paid tiers.

Unlimited free chat puts SpicyChat ahead of most 18+ apps we rank, which cap free messages: Candy AI stops at 5 messages in total and Secrets AI at 20 a day. The free limit that bites is memory, since a 4K context means long scenes lose earlier detail. Our page on whether SpicyChat is free explains each limit.

Roleplay tools: group chats, personas and characters

SpicyChat is built for roleplay. Group chats hold 2 to 10 characters in one scene (group chat guide), and personas let you tell characters who you are, from 3 on the free plan to 10 on Get A Taste, 50 on True Supporter and 100 on I'm All In. You can create characters with advanced settings, write scenarios, and import character cards made elsewhere.

Characters are made by users, and SpicyChat does not publish a count. The community guidelines ban underage characters or narratives, non-consensual scenarios, family roleplay, bots based on real private people, deepfakes of real people and extreme violence combined with adult content, and characters from children's media must be clearly aged up (community guidelines).

Our AI girlfriend roleplay ranking compares SpicyChat-style tools across ranked apps, and group chat apps covers multi-character scenes.

Memory: context tokens and Semantic Memory

When SpicyChat users talk about "tokens", they usually mean context: how much of the recent conversation a character can see. The free plan and Get A Taste use 4,096 tokens, True Supporter 8,192, and I'm All In up to 32K on models that support it (premium features). Get A Taste adds a Memory Manager for key facts, and True Supporter adds Semantic Memory 2.0, which recalls relevant older moments beyond the context window (Semantic Memory 2.0).

Reply length grows with the tier too, from 180 tokens on the free plan to 300 on True Supporter. Our data rates SpicyChat's memory as long-term on paid tiers. For more on why companions forget, see our guide on why AI companions forget.

Pictures and voice

Conversation images, where a character sends a picture during chat, start at True Supporter, and I'm All In extends them to all characters. Text-to-speech and custom voices are only on I'm All In, the top tier at $29.95 a month. There are no live calls and no video in our data.

That is the main reason people compare SpicyChat with companion apps. Candy AI includes pictures and video from $3.99 a month on a yearly plan, and several apps in our voice call ranking take live calls. See Candy AI vs SpicyChat for the trade-off.

Is SpicyChat safe? Company, privacy and cancelling

SpicyChat names its operator, NextDay AI Incorporated in Montreal, with US and Cyprus affiliates, and it runs third-party age checks in several countries. Two terms deserve attention. Its terms warn that electronic communications are not private and that operators of the service may read all messages you send, though staff access is restricted by internal policy. And they grant SpicyChat a perpetual license to use your chatbots, generations and chats (terms).

To cancel, open your profile, click Manage Subscription (or go to spicychat.ai/portal) and cancel in the billing portal. Refunds are limited, and crypto payments are never refunded. Our guides on whether SpicyChat is safe and how to cancel SpicyChat cover both in full.

Who SpicyChat suits, and who should skip it

Pick SpicyChat if you want 18+ text roleplay on a tight budget, love group scenes and personas, or want to try it free with no message cap. Get A Taste yearly at $5 a month is one of the cheapest paid plans for adult roleplay we track.

Skip it if you want pictures or voice on a cheap plan, live calls, an iPhone app, or private chats that staff cannot read. Secrets AI (8.5) adds editable memory and calls, OurDream (8.2) group scenes with calls and video, and Selira AI (8.2) uncapped free text with pictures on paid plans. See Secrets AI vs SpicyChat and Janitor AI vs SpicyChat.

More on SpicyChat

SpicyChat compared

SpicyChat alternatives worth a look

Our top pick

1

Secrets AI

8.5/10 5.9M visits a month

Long stories with editable memory

Group chats and personas on its top tier, plus an editable Lorebook memory, pictures, video and live calls, from $9.17 a month on a yearly plan.

  • Pictures
  • Video
  • Voice notes
  • Live calls
  • Build your own
  • Group chat
  • 18+ chat
  • Lorebook memory you can audit and edit
  • 8,000 Moments a month on Premium
  • 20 free messages every day
  • Group chats and personas need the $39.99 Ultimate tier
  • No refund for the current billing period
$19.99$9.17/moSave 54% yearly

Premium yearly plan, billed $109.99 per year

20 messages a day, no images or calls

Try Secrets AI free Secrets AI review
Company, refunds and renewal
Company
Secret Labs Inc., United States (Dover, Delaware address)
Refunds
No refund for the current billing period; access runs to the end of it
Renewal
Not stated
2

OurDream

8.2/10 47M visits a month

Unlimited chat with coins for media

Group chats, scenarios, pictures, video and live calls on both plans, with unlimited messages from $9.99 a month yearly, but no free plan.

  • Pictures
  • Video
  • Voice notes
  • Live calls
  • Build your own
  • Group chat
  • 18+ chat
  • 1,000 dreamcoins a month on every plan
  • Annual plan adds 1,000 bonus coins at sign-up
  • Voice calls at 50 coins a minute
  • Free users pay 1 coin per message
  • No refund once 25% of a purchase is used
$19.99$9.99/moSave 50% yearly

Annual plan, billed $119.88 once per year

No free messages, each one costs 1 coin

Visit OurDream OurDream review
Company, refunds and renewal
Company
Dream Studio USA, Inc., United States (Delaware corporation)
Refunds
None once more than 25% of a purchase is used; crypto payments are never refunded
Renewal
Not stated
3

Selira AI

8.2/10 153K visits a month

Unlimited free chat, cheap upgrades

Uncapped free text chat like SpicyChat, plus group chat and personas, with pictures and video on paid plans from $3.60 a month.

  • Pictures
  • Video
  • Voice notes
  • Build your own
  • Group chat
  • 18+ chat
  • No message cap on the free plan
  • Lite costs $7.99 month to month
  • Operator registered in the Netherlands
  • Free chat history is deleted after 3 days
  • Lite includes only 75 image or video credits
$7.99$3.60/moSave 55% yearly

Lite 12-month plan, billed $43.20 per year

Unlimited chat, 2 companions, 3 days of history

Try Selira AI free Selira AI review
Company, refunds and renewal
Company
Sria Digital B.V., Netherlands (KvK 42008045)
Refunds
Non-refundable except where law requires; technical problems reviewed within 14 days
Renewal
Not stated

Frequently asked questions

Is SpicyChat legit?

Yes. SpicyChat is run by NextDay AI Incorporated in Montreal, with NextDay AI USA Inc in Delaware and NextDay AI EU Ltd in Cyprus, the same group behind GirlfriendGPT. It publishes its plans, rules, refund policy and age checks.

How much does SpicyChat cost?

Get A Taste costs $5.95 a month or $60.00 a year, True Supporter $19.95 a month and I'm All In $29.95 a month, after a price rise on 8 September 2026. The free plan costs nothing.

Is SpicyChat free?

Yes. Free users get unlimited chat with ads, a 4,096-token context, 180-token replies and 3 personas. Pictures and text-to-speech need a paid tier, and there is no free trial.

Is SpicyChat safe?

It is a legitimate, named company with age checks in several regions. Its terms warn that operators may read the messages you send and grant it a broad license to your chats, so keep real personal details out.

How do I cancel SpicyChat?

Open your profile, click Manage Subscription or go to spicychat.ai/portal, and cancel in the billing portal. You keep the plan to the end of the period, and one-time payments do not renew.

Does SpicyChat have an app?

Not on the App Store: Apple removed the iOS app in August 2025. On Android, SpicyChat offers an official APK from its own website, and the website works on any phone.

What are tokens on SpicyChat?

On SpicyChat, tokens measure context memory, not money. The free plan and Get A Taste let characters see 4,096 tokens of recent chat, True Supporter 8,192, and the top tier more.

Keep reading

#1 SpicyChat7.6/10 · $5/mo · save 16%

Try free