18+ Adults only 31 apps compared Prices re-checked September 29, 2026

aigirlfriends.guide Try #1 free

Talkie review: free voice chat, with teen-level rules

Our Talkie review in one line: it is worth a try for free real-time voice chat with characters and its tool that turns a chat into a short video, but it bans adult content, allows users from age 14 and keeps memory short. It scores 6.6 out of 10, and Talkie+ costs $9.99 a month or $49.99 a year on the US App Store.

TalkieRanked #undefined of 31
6.6/10
Price
from $9.99 a month
Free plan
Free chat and voice chat; Talkie+ adds daily Gems
Best for
Voice chat and short videos from chats
Try Talkie free

Our verdict on Talkie

Talkie is a character chat community run by SUBSUP PTE. LTD. in Singapore, with characters powered by models from the Chinese AI company MiniMax. Users create characters, which Talkie calls Talkies, across anime, games, film, K-pop and original romance stories, and anyone can chat by text or talk out loud in real time. Its media tools stand out: an image generator, and a video generator that turns a recent chat into a short clip in 5 to 10 minutes.

The free plan is real but metered. Chat and voice chat are free, with ads and an "energy" meter you top up by watching ads or spending gems, plus daily limits on chats, rerolls and recalls. Talkie+ removes the ads and the daily caps. Talkie's FAQ says pornographic and violent content is banned, and its minimum age is 14, so the community and rules are built for a general, young audience.

App access is the other quirk. The main Talkie app is on Google Play, but it was removed from Apple's US App Store in December 2024; iPhone users get a separate app, Talkie Lab. For voice and video on a budget it is fun. Adults who want a companion that remembers them or allows 18+ chat should look at our Talkie alternatives.

What we like
  • Real-time voice chat included free
  • Turns a chat into a short video clip
  • Yearly Talkie+ is far cheaper than monthly
  • Google Play app plus a full web version
Watch out for
  • Adult content is banned and the minimum age is 14
  • Main Talkie app is not on the US App Store
  • Memory stays within the conversation in our data

Talkie at a glance

Talkie key facts, checked September 29, 2026
Company SUBSUP PTE. LTD., Singapore
Website www.talkie-ai.com
Cheapest plan from $9.99 a month (Talkie+ monthly, as stated in Talkie's own FAQ)
Month to month $9.99 a month
In-app currency Gems
Free plan Free chat and voice chat; Talkie+ adds daily Gems
Pictures Yes
Video Yes
Voice messages Yes
Voice calls Yes
Build your own character Yes
Group chat No
Memory Conversational
18+ content Not allowed
Free plan limits Chat and real-time voice chat are free; Talkie+ adds daily Gems and extra perks
Refunds Recharges are generally non-refundable except for system errors or duplicate charges; no refunds for partial subscription months
iPhone app No, use the website
Android app Yes, on Google Play

Sources: talkie-ai.com/faq, book.talkie-ai.com/faq, talkie-ai.com/static/service, talkie-ai.com/pages/ai-character-voice-chat, talkie-ai.com/image-generation.

How Talkie scores

  • Conversation5.6
  • Memory4.8
  • Pictures and video8.8
  • Voice8.5
  • Value6.6
  • Trust6.4

Overall 6.6 out of 10. Weighted: conversation 25%, memory 20%, pictures and video 20%, value 15%, voice 10%, trust 10%. How the scores work.

Talkie pricing: Talkie+ Standard and Pro

Talkie has a free plan and two paid tiers. On the US App Store, Talkie+ Standard costs $9.99 a month or $49.99 a year, which works out to $4.17 a month, and Talkie+ Pro costs $24.99 a month.

Talkie plans and prices in US dollars, from its own pricing page (September 2026)
Plan Month to month Per month, paid yearly Billed yearly Includes
Free Use $0 n/a n/a Text and voice chat with characters, character creation; daily chat, regeneration, recall and inspiration limits; ads and an "energy" meter topped up by watching ads or spending gems. No account needed to start; guests are prompted to sign up after a few chats.
Talkie+ Standard $9.99 $4.17 $49.99 Unlimited chats, unlimited chat inspirations, persona customisation, ad-free. Prices from the US App Store (1 Month $9.99, 1 Year $49.99); per-month figure computed.
Talkie+ Pro $24.99 n/a n/a Full Talkie+ benefits plus extra cloud storage days for chat history sync; Talkie Claw requires Talkie+. Price from the US App Store.

Talkie also sells gems, which buy extra chats when the free limit runs out and pay for card draws and gifts. It publishes no price per action. Our Talkie pricing guide covers gem packs and the first-year discount banner.

Is Talkie free? The free plan and the energy meter

Yes. Free users can text and voice chat with characters and create their own, and you can start without an account; guests are asked to sign up after a few chats. The limits are daily caps on chats, rerolls, recalls and suggested replies, plus ads and an energy meter. When energy runs low, you watch an ad or spend gems.

That makes Talkie one of the few apps where voice costs nothing, which is rare: nearly every 18+ app we rank charges per minute for calls. Our page on whether Talkie is free explains how far the free plan goes.

Voice chat, pictures and chat-to-video

Voice is Talkie's main draw. You can hold a real-time spoken conversation with a character, and Talkie says real-time voice chat is free (Talkie voice chat). Characters have their own voices.

The media tools go further than most general chat apps. The image generator creates pictures of characters, and the video generator uses MiniMax's model to turn a recent chat into a short clip, which Talkie says takes 5 to 10 minutes (Talkie video generation). Everything stays within the content rules, so there is no adult media.

If you want a companion that calls you and allows 18+ chat, compare the apps in our AI girlfriend voice call ranking, or read Nomi AI vs Talkie.

Memory and chat quality

Talkie's memory is its weak point. Our data rates it as conversational, meaning characters work from the current chat rather than building a long-term history. Free users also have a daily limit on recalls. Talkie+ Pro adds extra cloud storage days for syncing chat history, which is storage rather than smarter memory.

Replies come from MiniMax models, and Talkie+ adds unlimited chat inspirations (suggested replies) and persona customization, so you can tell characters who you are. The app supports 15 languages, including Spanish, Portuguese, Filipino, Japanese and Korean.

For long stories, a memory-first app works better. Our list of AI girlfriend apps with memory ranks them.

Is Talkie safe? Company, rules and privacy

Talkie is a legitimate app with a named company, SUBSUP PTE. LTD. at 20 Emerald Hill Road, Singapore, and more than 50 million Google Play downloads (Google Play). Points to know:

  • Young users. The minimum age is 14, or 15 to 16 in some countries, by self-declaration with no ID check.
  • Ad data. The privacy policy says website visit data such as clicks, IP and advertising ID is shared with ad partners, which may count as a "sale" under some US state laws, while conversations and photos are never shared with advertisers (privacy policy).
  • Refunds. The terms say fees are non-refundable to the fullest extent the law allows.

Our Is Talkie safe? guide covers deletion, data export and the App Store removal in full.

How to cancel Talkie+

Open Profile, then Subscription. Web subscribers use Manage Billing; if you subscribed in the app, cancel in your Apple ID or Google Play subscriptions, because Talkie says subscriptions can only be changed in the store where they were bought. Cancel before the renewal date, and you drop to the free plan when the paid period ends. Partial months are not refunded. Our guide on how to cancel Talkie covers every route.

Who Talkie suits, and who should skip it

Pick Talkie if you want free voice conversations with characters, like making short videos from your chats, or enjoy anime, game and K-pop characters in a clean setting. On Android it is easy to install, and the web version works everywhere.

Skip it if you want 18+ chat, a companion that remembers last week, or a single App Store app on iPhone. Adults who want voice and video with fewer limits usually move to Secrets AI (8.5), Nomi AI (8.2) or Kindroid (8.2), which all take live calls. See Secrets AI vs Talkie and Character AI vs Talkie.

More on Talkie

Talkie compared

Talkie alternatives worth a look

Our top pick

1

Secrets AI

8.5/10 5.9M visits a month

Long stories with editable memory

Live calls, pictures and video with an editable long-term memory and 18+ chat, from $9.17 a month on a yearly plan.

  • Pictures
  • Video
  • Voice notes
  • Live calls
  • Build your own
  • Group chat
  • 18+ chat
  • Lorebook memory you can audit and edit
  • 8,000 Moments a month on Premium
  • 20 free messages every day
  • Group chats and personas need the $39.99 Ultimate tier
  • No refund for the current billing period
$19.99$9.17/moSave 54% yearly

Premium yearly plan, billed $109.99 per year

20 messages a day, no images or calls

Try Secrets AI free Secrets AI review
Company, refunds and renewal
Company
Secret Labs Inc., United States (Dover, Delaware address)
Refunds
No refund for the current billing period; access runs to the end of it
Renewal
Not stated
2

Nomi AI

8.2/10 2.1M visits a month

Relationship chat with strong recall

A single companion with layered long-term memory, live calls and video, plus an official iPhone app, from $8.33 a month yearly.

  • Pictures
  • Video
  • Voice notes
  • Live calls
  • Build your own
  • Group chat
  • 18+ chat
  • Official App Store app
  • Free plan keeps one-to-one chat
  • Up to 10 companions on one subscription
  • No explicit images by policy
  • No refunds for partial months
$15.99$8.33/moSave 48% yearly

Standard yearly plan, $99.99 on the US App Store

One-to-one chat, 400-character messages

Try Nomi AI free Nomi AI review
Company, refunds and renewal
Company
Glimpse.ai, Inc., United States (Maryland)
Refunds
No refunds for buyer's remorse, lack of use or partial months
Renewal
Not stated
3

Kindroid

8.2/10 2.6M visits a month

Calls, video selfies and lasting memory

Official iPhone and Android apps with live calls, video selfies, group chats and lasting memory, from $11.67 a month on a yearly plan.

  • Pictures
  • Video
  • Voice notes
  • Live calls
  • Build your own
  • Group chat
  • 18+ chat
  • Voice and video calls with your Kindroid
  • Group chats and scenarios for subscribers
  • 3-day free trial of the full subscription
  • The free tier is limited to the Lite model
  • Ultra and MAX add-ons cost $28.99 and $68.99 a month in the app
$13.99$11.67/moSave 17% yearly

Yearly on the web, billed $139.99 (app stores charge $159.99)

Limited free tier on the Lite model

Try Kindroid free Kindroid review
Company, refunds and renewal
Company
Beautifully Inc., United States (Los Angeles, California address)
Refunds
Not stated
Renewal
The 3-day free trial rolls into the selected paid plan unless cancelled

Frequently asked questions

Is Talkie legit?

Yes. Talkie is run by SUBSUP PTE. LTD., a Singapore company at 20 Emerald Hill Road, with more than 50 million Google Play downloads, published terms and a privacy policy. Its characters run on MiniMax models.

How much does Talkie cost?

Talkie is free to use. Talkie+ Standard costs $9.99 a month or $49.99 a year on the US App Store, and Talkie+ Pro $24.99 a month. Gems are sold separately.

Is Talkie free?

Yes. Text and real-time voice chat are free, with ads, an energy meter and daily limits on chats and rerolls. Talkie+ removes ads and makes chats unlimited.

Is Talkie safe?

It is a legitimate app with a named company and account deletion, but it allows users from age 14, shares website ad data with partners, and generally does not refund payments. Keep personal details out of chats.

How do I cancel Talkie+?

Go to Profile, then Subscription. Web subscribers use Manage Billing; app subscribers cancel in Apple ID or Google Play subscriptions. You keep Talkie+ until the period ends.

Does Talkie allow NSFW?

No. Talkie's FAQ says pornographic and violent content is prohibited under its terms, and character settings are moderated. Its minimum age is 14, so the rules are set for a general audience.

Why is Talkie not on the App Store?

Talkie was removed from Apple's US App Store in December 2024 for what it called technical reasons, according to the South China Morning Post. iPhone users can use the website or a separate app from the same company, Talkie Lab.

Keep reading

#1 Talkie6.6/10 · $9.99/mo

Try free